home about us help sitemap
hindustan university
Kakatiya University
Kakatiya Univ Logo
Kakatiya University
Warangal - 506 009
Andhra Pradesh, India
Phone: + 91 - 870 - 246 1462, 243 8866, 243 9966
Email: vc@kakatiya.ac.in, registrar@kakatiya.ac.in
Website: www.kakatiya.ac.in
Kakatiya University Affiliated Colleges,
Courses offered - Click Here

The Establishment of Kakatiya University on August 19, 1976 signified the fulfillment of a long cherished aspiration of the people of Telangana. Emergence of this University was in fact a historic event in the sense that it heralded a new era in the realm of higher education catering to the needs of North Telangana.
The University began with only four Departments, viz. Telugu, English, Chemistry and Mathematics in 1968, Departments of Physics, Botany, Zoology, Commerce and Public Administration were added later. The Department of Economics was started in 1974. B. Pharmacy course which was started by OU in 1974 was shifted to KU in 1975
The Post-Graduate Centre was accorded autonomy in administrative and academic affairs by OU on April 30, 1976. Eventually, it was upgraded into Kakatiya University on August 19,1976. The University is 28 years old now and it is all set for academic excellence. The University also celebrated in a grand way its Silver Jubilee Celebrations in 2001.
To begin with, jurisdictional area of the University was confined to the municipal limits of Warangal only. With the expansion of jurisdictional area of the University in 1988, it has now in its fold 321 colleges (171 old govt. aided, private unaided degree colleges, 66 new colleges in 2005, 48 B.Ed. colleges, 14 pharmacy colleges, 3 law colleges, 3 engineering colleges, including Kothagudem Engineering College, 11 university PG colleges, 29 colleges offering MBA, and 32 colleges offering MCA), located in the Northern Telangana districts of Karimnapr, Khammam, Adilabad and Warangal offering a number of programmes at the Under-Graduate, Post-Graduate and Research levels in Professional as well as Non-Professional courses.
The University has a network of eleven constituent colleges with 24 Departments. During 2004-2005, the total enrollment of students for under-graduate programmes was around 90,000, while it was 6,500 for the post-graduate courses. About 175 research scholars are registered for Ph.D. programmes in different faculties.
At present the University has its Post-graduate Colleges at Nirmal, Karimnagar, Godavarikhani, Subedari (Hanamkonda), Khammam and Kothagudem in addtion to the main campus. Kothagudem School of Mines has been elevated to the status of University Engineering College, Kothagudem.
After the formation of the University, M. Phil. and Ph.D Programmes were started. Facilities for research have been expanded by strengthening the Library and Laboratory facilities. A Central Instrumentation Centre has also been established to pool up the common facilities required by all the Science Departments.
The Kakatiya University is now offering programmes in Engineering, Pharmacy, Law, M.C.A., M.B.A. Education. Science. Arts, Commerce. Oriental Courses in University, constituent and affiliated Colleges in addition to a large number of around 60 programmes under distance mode through SDLCE. First time in AP, PG courses in Science for inservice teachers and government employees, M.L.I.Sc and MCJ, Diploma in Mimicry, Certificate Course in Communication Skills in English, M.Sc. (Environmental Science) and M.Sc.(Psychology) have been introduced recently.
copyright 2009 - 2012, adroit techno solutions. all rights reserved.