home about us help sitemap
hindustan university
Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University Hyderabad
Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University Hyderabad Univ Logo
Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University Hyderabad
Hyderabad - 500 085
Andhra Pradesh, India
Phone: + 91 - 40 - 2315 6109
Email: info@jntu.ac.in
Website: www.jntu.ac.in
Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University Hyderabad
Affiliated Colleges, Courses offered - Click Here

First established as the Hyderabad Polytechnic Institute, the Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University (name changed in 1972) is located in Hyderabad, India focusing mainly on engineering. JNTU also has campuses in the districts of Kakinada and Anantapur in the State. It offers programs of study at the undergraduate, masters and doctoral level in a wide variety of fields. The university also has a business school that offers the MBA program.
First Technological University in India
Under a broad policy framework of providing new technological education required for the industrial growth of the country in general and more particularly for the State of Andhra Pradesh, "Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University" was established on 2 October, 1972, by an act of State Legislature. Named after the ardent lover of Science and Technology and first Prime Minister of India, Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru, the University was established with the objectives of strengthening and improving the standards of technological education and making it relevant to the rural and industrial development of the country. Technological advancements and infrastructure facilitate to determine the progress and prosperity of a nation. This is very true in case of India, endowed with huge population growing at a rapid pace and vast natural resources largely remaining unexploited.
Realizing that promotion of technical education was the imperative need of the hour, JNTU the first technological university of India - was established in Andhra Pradesh with head quarters at Hyderabad. The singular objective by the way of emphasis on training & research in engineering and applied sciences. On its formation, the Government Engineering Colleges at Anantapur, Kakinada and Hyderabad, along with the Government College of Fine Arts and Architecture at Hyderabad, became its constituent colleges:
Govt. College of Engineering, Anantapur. (JNTU College of Engineering Anantapur)
Govt. College of Engineering, Kakinada. (JNTU College of Engineering Kakinada)
Nagarjuna Sagar College of Engg., Hyd. (JNTU College of Engineering Hyderabad)
The first two colleges were established in the year 1946 and last one in the year 1965. These colleges have been the constituent units of JNT University since 1972.
In order to provide thrust for research and development in emerging areas, a nucleus has been created at the University Headquarters in form of Institute for Post Graduate Studies and Research (IST). It has 10 "Schools of Excellence" each one dedicated to a particular discipline of technical education.
These schools offer programmes leading to post graduate degrees. In addition, the emphasis is on research and development activities in collaboration with R&D organizations like TATA IBM.
Most of the privately owned 4-year colleges in the State, offering programs in Engineering, were affiliated to their regional universities such as Osmania University in Hyderabad and Andhra University in Visakhapatnam. However, almost all such colleges founded in the state in the late 1990s and on (about 200 of them) were affiliated to the JNTU.
copyright 2009 - 2012, adroit techno solutions. all rights reserved.